Caroline Islands

Post Offices from 12.10 1899 to 11.10 1914

Apart from the actual Caroline Island Group the Colony also included the geographically independent Palau Islands lying to the West. It extended from longitude 130 degrees to 165 degrees West. In the South it bordered on German New Guinea along the Equator and in the North around 10 degrees latitude abutted the Marianas. Towards the East were the Marshall Islands. Including Palau the colony comprised some 500 islands covering an area of over 1,400 sq. kms with, in 1913, about 40,000 inhabitants.